Thursday, September 04, 2008

Two Baby kits , a lesson for designers and a free gift for you


share this: facebook

Precious in Pink

by D- Lauren Bavin



Click on the image for any kit to be taken right to it in the DSP store

This
beautiful kit features some soft and elegant backgrounds and elements
that are perfect to display photos of your precious baby girl, but they
will also be perfect for photos of girls and women of any age,even
working well for heritage photos.




Kit Includes:




    ~1 moon and stars background

    ~1 girly spots background

    ~1 pink flourish background

    ~1 soft pink grid background

    ~1 bracket frame

    ~1 floral swirl

    ~1 jewelled brad circle

    ~1 journalling cloud

    ~1 gold wire moon and stars

    ~1 pink taffeta ribbon


Angel Dreams Page Kit

by D- Lauren Bavin
This
beautiful kit features some soft and elegant backgrounds and elements
that are perfect to display photos of your precious baby boy , but they
will also be perfect for photos of baby girls , and children of all
ages. Kit Includes:




    ~1 moon and stars background

    ~1 baby boy stripe background

    ~1 star lattice background

    ~1 blue washed checks background

    ~1 blue green ribbon

    ~1 gold moon

    ~1 jewelled star brad circle

    ~1 journalling cloud

    ~1 safety pin with charms

    ~1 scalloped chipboard frame

    ~1 sleeping circle word art

    ~1 star border




These two page kits are the result of a bit of a long story. I hope you will settle in and read this especially if you are a designer.

Back a few months ago ( actually several months ago ) I was approached ( actually myself and a few other DSP designers ) by a woman claiming she was starting up a new paper scrapbooking company and wanted to contract me to produce some papers for her to have printed as part of her range.
She seemed entirely legitimate and we agreed on a price and she sent me a contract.
She said she needed the work done very fast as she wanted to release the range at the Summer CHA in July.
So i put off other work that needed doing and set to work creating a range of 12 papers for her .
She wanted me to create a baby range which I did.
I sent her samples and she was extremely happy with the result so I went ahead and sent her the final result files .

After some time went past and I had received no payment I enquired as to when that was likely to happen and she claimed not to have received my contract. ( which had been mailed before I created the papers ).
SHe also told me that I was the only one of the 3 of us from whom she hadnt received a contract. ) _At this point bells should have started ringing as I understood another designer had not sent in a contract at that stage.

She then claimed her " investor" was sending the cheque .
At that point I replied that I was holding the contract here until I received payment as my contract was with her and not with her investor and when I had received payment I would forward the contract.
No payment was forthcoming. ( are you getting the drift of where Im going with this now?????????)

After another enquiry she told me she had paid one of the other designers - I checked and no such payment was received ( of course) .

After much tooing and froing between myself and the other 2 designers and the woman concerned - - I decided to send the contract with an addendum added that if payment wasnt received by July 31 then all copyright for the files returned to myself.

At that point she sent an email to all of us ( and I should add that the emails back and forward were quite frequent and stories seemed to change randomly from her end ) that her investor had pulled out. Of course this was after summer CHA which she was supposed to have been releasing them anyway!!!!!!!!

By mid August I realised that I would never receive payment for this work, but I could not take back the files I had sent her and apparently she had already had them printed ) - although I have no idea if this is true based on her lack of truthfullness up to this point )
Hence - I have created these 2 baby kits with some of the papers and Im offering you the other 5 as a gift .
You dont have to buy anything to get these papers for free ( although obviously Id really appreciate it if you did so that I could recoup at least some of the money I would have earned) - but I do ask that if you do happen to see any of these papers in physical form anywhere in any store in the world, please do not buy them and please do let me know!!

And the lesson for myself and for all other designers - dont do any freelance work without getting at least some of the payment up front!!!

You can download these papers from here





One of the other designers involved in this mess was my good friend Rene' Bross.
She is using some of her papers in her current challenge which you can find here

It would be great if you could also support her challenge as a way of us recouping some of what we might have earned!!!

50 comments:

  1. OH! That is terrible, Lauren! I will sure keep my eye out for these. Are the baby kits going to be in the store at DSP? I will sure buy them! They are beautiful! That makes me so mad!!

    Pinky7

    ReplyDelete
  2. So sorry to hear of your troubles. Thank you for sharing with us. It's terrible to here when someone takes advantage of anothers abilities. You have great designs keep up the great work.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yes they are in the store now - if you scroll up to the 2 kits and click on them you should go right to them in the store -
    Im thinking I will probably feature one or both of these kits for Gimme More this week too!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I remember you telling us about that contract. That stinks that it didn't come off. The kits look great though so I'm sure they'll sell well in store. Thanks for papers.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I am sorry that you had to go through this mess. It always amazes me that people do these kind of things to others without a conscience bothering them. I hope she does not do this again to someone else but I really don't think she is the type of person who cares. The papers are lovely Lauren and I appreciate your generosity.

    HeatherL

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous12:16 am

    Gosh, Lauren, I'm so sorry that you guys were taken like that. The kits and the papers are beautiful!
    Deb (aka kydeb)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Roberta T2:51 am

    There are a lot of sharks out there. That just sucks. But you sure produced some beautiful things and we get to benefit! If someone with as much savvy as you could get ripped off, it does not bode well. Thanks for the free papers.

    ReplyDelete
  8. People can really be bad. So sorry this happened, Lauren. Your new kit are really pretty. Thank you for sharing the beautiful papers with me.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous4:36 am

    Sorry you had to go through that.

    Thanks for the papers though

    ReplyDelete
  10. Penny4:46 am

    Thanks for the papers. I know I will be wanting Precious in Pink. I still granddaughter baby pics to scrap.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Betsyfru5:26 am

    Lauren, that's awful! Well, as they say, live & learn, and if it seems too good to be true, it probably is too good to be true. I love your papers & kits and will be more than happy to participate in both your challenge & Rene's!

    ReplyDelete
  12. What a terrible, but probably all to frequent situation. There is no justification for this. Even if things didn't work out the way this woman intended, she should have communicated this to you and returned your files or at least indicate that she would not use them since she was unable to pay for them. Sad.

    On the other hand, I am thrilled that you created baby kits!!!!!! How perfect for me now that I am a "grannie-in-waiting". Be assured that I will be buying both kits. They are gorgeous!!!! Thanks for the freebie papers too!

    ReplyDelete
  13. So sorry for your experience! It is crummy that all people are not trustworthy! Thanks for sharing the papers, Lauren!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Well, just yuck. Surely as dingy as she was she wouldn't have the brains to know how to get them printed and distributed. Sheesh! The noive of some folks!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Oh Lauren, so sorry to hear about all the drama..hopefully that lady gets whats coming to her. you have friends all over the world...we'll keep an eye open for ya.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I'm sorry you had to deal with all this. It amazes me (in a bad way) that people can take advantage of others like this.

    Thank you for the papers. I'll look for the kits in the store

    ReplyDelete
  17. Lauren - that is outrageous! I have just added the kits to my cart, I am buying them even if I dont get around to using them right away. I think you, Rene (and the other designers at dsp) are so generous with all your bonuses and freebies and you absolutely deserve a bit of loyalty in return!! :)

    Chris M

    ReplyDelete
  18. Raphne2:42 pm

    This is absolutely infuriating! I am so sorry. You can be sure we'll all be on the lookout for these in digital and paper format. You have the right to be paid for what you do!

    I do thank you for the beautiful papers, though, and look forward to using the kits!

    ReplyDelete
  19. Anlene7:54 pm

    This is terrible, how can people be like this???

    thanks for the freebie!

    I don't think I will see your papers in store cause I'm in South Africa, but I will have a look.
    Anlene

    ReplyDelete
  20. Oh that's awful Lauren! It sounded so exciting you all getting the contract for the papers, its sad it turned out like this. :( Beautiful kits you have from it though. I will be scouring all our order books at work in future and will let you know if I see your gorgeous designs anywhere.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Sharon131311:50 pm

    Thanks for sharing, Lauren... it's a good lesson for all of us to hear. Sorry you had to go through it, how frustrating! But you've definitely made lemonade out of lemons, these kits and papers are gorgeous as always.

    ReplyDelete
  22. Lauren, what a terrible experience for you and for Rene! Thank your for sharing with us.

    Alice

    ReplyDelete
  23. How awful for you Lauren. I hate to hear stories like this where true, honest and good people have been taken advantage of. I do believe in what comes around goes around, and she too will pay for her crime somewhere down the line.

    ReplyDelete
  24. What a scam artist she turned out to be! I feel for your loss of potential income as these are beautiful papers and the kits are just adorable!

    ReplyDelete
  25. I think it's terrible that such an honest, hard-working person was taken advantage of in such a way. I'm adding your new baby kit to my cart right now!

    ReplyDelete
  26. Oh my gosh! That is horrible and you did such a beautiful job! Thanks for sharing them with us!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Thank you for these beautiful papers! I'm so sorry you were treated so terribly. I don't understand how people can live with themselves when they do these horrible things.

    ReplyDelete
  28. thank you for the gift. thanks for taking time to blog about it - what a shock and disappointment to say the least. these are beautiful creations and i'm sure took time and energy and concentration and, as you said, putting aside other things. god bless and good luck. have a good day.

    ReplyDelete
  29. I just emailed a friend of mine who mfgs. chipboard products because this story sounds so familiar to me. I think my friend may have gone through a similar thing with a woman from Australia asking for some designs, etc. If I find out anything more, I'll email you, but feel free to contact me.

    I'm really sorry you got duped!

    xo

    ReplyDelete
  30. This is a horrid story... is there anyway that we can help, ...maybe look out for the printed version of these in a scrapbook store?
    Thanks for sharing, and keep your chin up as these thieves are (hopefully) few and far between.
    ;=)
    Sue

    ReplyDelete
  31. These papers are absolutely wonderful. Thank you for sharing, sorry you had to go through such a bad experience.!

    ReplyDelete
  32. Anonymous10:32 am

    I'm so sorry that someone is missusing your products.
    Thanks for sharing these with us.
    I did a page using the papers.
    It's here:

    http://www.digitalscrapbookplace.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=281292

    ReplyDelete
  33. OMG! That's just aweful for someone to waste your time and talent that way. The papers and kits are just beautiful!!

    ReplyDelete
  34. She will half to answer to God for this. This is just awful. I pray for you to heal from this scam artist cruel attack on your work and you.
    Sametra

    ReplyDelete
  35. crlin606:38 pm

    I see this was posted last month but I still want to comment because I find it unimaginable that someone could do this! These papers are gorgeous and I know you put a lot of hard work into making them. I am so sorry that you were treated this way!!! Thank you for the beautitul papers!!!

    ReplyDelete
  36. Anonymous11:13 am

    I'm just shaking my head at something like this happening. It's a good thing there are nice people like you and Rene around or I'd never trust anyone. Of course, hubby better not trust me too much right now, cause I want to go right out and buy those kits. :)

    kaliko88 >^..^<

    ReplyDelete
  37. gfv197410:29 pm

    These are beautiful! As a freelance graphic designer myself, I can totally sympathise. I sometimes have to chase up for ages to get paid for work I've done. :(

    ReplyDelete
  38. These are so pretty thanks for sharing!!!

    ReplyDelete
  39. How awful. I will keep a look out in stores, seeing as I still do mostly paper layouts. In addition, I know the owner at my favorite scrapbooking store, and she does most of the purchasing at market. I will take her prints from your work above to see if she recognizes them.

    ReplyDelete
  40. Well, the papers are lovely, anyway! Thank you for sharing them.

    ReplyDelete
  41. slowgranny8:28 am

    These papers are just super, and I can see many ways to use them and I'm a beginner. Too bad there are people that take advantage of good hearted people like you.

    ReplyDelete
  42. Anonymous3:23 pm

    It is because of this kind of low-morale people that many designers decide not to give their hard work as freebies and gifts. God will be blessing you kind souls!! And remember that as sure as the sky is blue the low lifes will pay in this life and in the next one too.
    Sorry, but you can tell I'm really mad for what happened to you!

    ReplyDelete
  43. Anonymous9:33 am

    Wow, there are scammers in every walk of life I guess...my grandmother was taken in by one. I am so sorry to hear this! Thank you for the freebie and I will definitely return for purchases! I'm new and trying to build up my papers and such! Thanks again!

    ReplyDelete
  44. Anonymous3:13 am

    I'm sorry that someone took such an advantage of you - the papers are beautiful

    ReplyDelete
  45. Anonymous12:25 pm

    Have you posted something with the Better Business Bureau? Maybe it could help keep someone else from being scammed. Robbed is a better word! - Your papers are beautiful.

    ReplyDelete
  46. Anonymous3:14 pm

    i am so sorry this happened to you...i will definitely keep my eye out and if i see anything that looks remotely like yours i'll let you know...i know that the internet can really be scary when people take without permission and think nothing of using things and stealing them as their own.

    Your papers are beautiful!

    ReplyDelete
  47. Anonymous3:11 pm

    Sometimes people suck. I hope this didnt damper your desire to create because you have a gift--and Im not just being smarmy here. Clearly you have a god given talent because the work you produce ended up in my hands---where I made an album that touched a life. Deeply. You gave me the base to bless another with. You are in the top five favorite designers I know....thank you thank you thank you. You matter. Your work is important. THANK YOU!!! <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thankyou so much for your wonderful comment. I really needed a boost like reading this today !

      Delete
  48. Thank you for the freebie

    ReplyDelete